AJ0189 – Out of the New

Steve Wiest: trombone 
Fred Hamilton: guitar
Stefan Karlsson: piano
Lynn Seaton: bass
Ed Soph: drums

Available at



Out of the New
Steve Wiest

1. X&Y
2. Seven Days
3. Walk This Way
4. Wake Me Up When September Ends
5. Shiver
6. It’s You I Like
7. Defying Gravity
8. In Your Honor

Trombonist and arranger Steve Wiest bursts back into the spotlight with Out of the New, an aggressive investigation of today’s popular music. Steve Wiest is representative of jazz at its best. Innovative and inventive, he seamlessly melds musical exploration with refined talent and creates unique, expressive gems with the greatest ease. 

Steve Wiest’s powerful trombone is complemented by his colleagues from the jazz powerhouse, the University of North Texas, who willingly follow his Indiana Jones-esque venture into the realm of new musical concepts. Steve Wiest sets out to find the “new standards” on this expedition and returns bearing the many rewards. Sparks of energy flow from beginning to end as he finds the pulse of popular music and injects jazz right into its veins. As for the audience, Out of the New is left to course through their systems, compelling repeated spins of the disc.