Released April 4th, 2014

Steven Kimbrough: baritone
Mary K. Jackson: piano [1–4, 7, 10–18]
Alma Gaudette: piano [5, 6, 8, 9]
Maureen Kelly: flute

Mark Kimbrough: cover design


Songs of Freedom, Justice and Peace
Steven Kimbrough

Six Songs on Liberty and Slavery (African American Poets in Song)

Mary K. Jackson, music
Langston Hughes, text
1. The Merry-Go-Round

Mary K. Jackson, music
Countee Cullen, text
2. Tableau
3. The Slave’s Complaint
4. Sympathy
5. On Liberty and Slavery
6. Bury Me in a Free Land

Three Songs for Justice and Peace
7. How Shall We See Each Other
8. Ahav, Agape Both Mean Love
9. My Family

Two Songs for Creation
10. Simplicity
11. The Praying Mantis

Seven Proverbs
12. A Glad Heart
13. The Early Bird Catches the Worm
14. A Bird in the Hand
15. A Rolling Stone Gathers No Moss
16. A Good Name
17. A Word To The Wise
18. A Word Fitly Spoke